Zoo Station

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thoughts on retirement

Posted by Chance on July 17, 2010

The prevailing attitude in the work world today is to count down the days to retirement when one can live a life of leisure and play golf every day. Here’s the thing though; I actually like working, and I think I would get bored if I didn’t work.

Also, I think the whole method of saving up all my income for the last 20 or 30 years of my life just sounds very stressful. I would rather live most of my life striking a balance between stress and boredom, rather than going through a period of stress followed by a period of boredom.

I don’t know if I will necessarily work full-time until I’m eighty, but I think I will work in some capacity as long as I am able. I still plan to save up for retirement, for one, I get free money through my company matching some of my 401K contributions, and, I want to save up in the event that me being unable to work comes sooner rather than later.

I’m not saying everyone has to do what I do, but I do think it is good that people stay active one way or the other, whether it be work of some sort, home projects, volunteer work, etc. I think the main purpose is avoiding idleness.

Note: I do realize I have a cushy job compared to some people, so I don’t blame people for looking forward to retirement. I think the last paragraph addresses those issues however.

Leave a Reply

 
