Zoo Station

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Why I listen to the music I do

Posted by Chance on March 8, 2010

I strongly base my listening habits on the way music makes me feel.  This is why I listen Collective Soul instead of Radiohead.  Radiohead is very innovate and constantly pushes the envelope.  Collective Soul is a middle-of-the-road rock band that you may hear in your dentist’s office.  Radiohead has made their mark on the music scene; Collective Soul not so much.  However, listening to Radiohead puts me in a gloomy mood, whereas Collective Soul is much more uplifting.  Simply put, I like the way I feel after listening to Collective Soul.

In a similar way, U2 will always be a preferable band to The Beatles.  I enjoy the Beatles music very much, but they are like musical carbohydrates.  It is enjoyable, but I don’t feel like I get much out of it.  On the other hand, I feel that U2 touches me on a spiritual level; they hit a spot that the Beatles can’t reach.

Leave a Reply

 
