Zoo Station

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Microsoft Fail

Posted by Chance on May 14, 2009

Microsoft Vista is considered the biggest tech failure of the past decade according to some guy.

I don’t have Windows Vista myself, I still run XP at work and home.  However, a shared computer at work and my mom’s laptop both run Vista.  When I first played with it, I thought “Vista isn’t as bad as I thought!”  However, that was first glance.  After a short amount of time, I have noticed that Vista on both those machines are ridiculously slow.  It would often lockup, forcing me to try a reboot or logon/logoff.  Simple tasks like opening a new folder on the machine would take a ridiculous amount of time.

These are also fairly new machines with a decent amount of RAM.  And even if they were not top of the line, they shouldn’t have to be.  I disagree with Microsoft’s philosophy that an OS should tax a machine with current specs as much as possible.

However, I changed my Mom’s theme from the whiz-bang curvy translucent windows to the Windows Classic, which looks pretty much like Windows pre-XP.  I haven’t found out yet if it has helped significantly.

2 Responses to “Microsoft Fail”

  1. Neil said

    I’ve been very disappointed with Vista. Just a bunch of security features that are akin to the post-9/11 “just check their IDs a lot to make them feel like we’re doing something” procedures. It gets really slow sometimes, even with 6 GB of memory.

    • Chance said

      Ha! Nice analogy. For the work computer I turned the User Account Controls off which got rid of all the annoying messages. I don’t know if it made it inherently less safe or not.

Leave a Reply

 
