Zoo Station

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sometimes Christian songs don’t have a happy ending

Posted by Chance on May 13, 2009

Apparently there was a big to do about the Fray’s (somewhat) new song “You Found Me.”  It’s basically about a person talking to God wondering where he’s been, and where God was all this time before He “found” him.  I wasn’t sure what I thought of the song at first, because the song sounded somewhat bitter.  But Wally, a DJ on the national Christian Rock radio show Total Axxess, mentioned that this song is in the same vein as many of the Psalms.  He brought up Psalm 88, which closes with v. 18

“You have taken my companions and loved ones from me;
the darkness is my closest friend.”

Wow, how’s that for inspirational verse of the day?

As we see in the Psalms, I don’t think there is anything wrong with questioning God sometimes.  Isaac Slade of The Fray is doing the same thing here, I think.  The song title is “You Found Me”, it’s not, “You Never Found Me.”  I think as long as questioning God doesn’t turn into bitterness, I think it’s okay.

One Response to “Sometimes Christian songs don’t have a happy ending”

  1. Randy said

    One of my favorite Christian songs is “As the Deer panteth for the water…” It comes from Psalm 42. When you read the Psalm, you realize that it was written in some of David’s darkest days, when he thirsted for God’s presence, but couldn’t feel it. “My God, my soul is downcast within me” (v6) and “I say to God my Rock, ‘Why have you forgotten me, Why must I go about mourning oppressed by my enemy'” (v9). Talk about depressing.

    The part I love about this is the resolution that David finds in verse 11: “Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” He tells what his plans are in Psalm 43:4 “Therefore I will go to the alter of God, to God, my joy and my delight. I will praise you with the harp, O God, my God.”

Leave a Reply

 
