Zoo Station

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Joshua Tree, a turning point in my music collection and in my life

Posted by Chance on March 25, 2009

When I was in high school, I listened to some bad music, such as Nine Inch Nails and Tool.  I won’t touch that stuff anymore, I don’t really have a desire to listen to it because most of it is angry, and primarily, because they are blasphemous in their lyrics.

About a week or two before I was going off to college, I bought the The Joshua Tree by U2.  This event was significant for a couple of reasons.

For one, this album served as the turning point from listening to dark, angry music to listening to bands that were way more positive.  My music catalog has totally changed, and it really began with U2.  Also, The Joshua Tree served as a soundtrack for a big event in my life – going away to college and embarking on something new.  I listened to this album almost every time I drove home from college and back.

It seems that many times in my life a U2 album comes out during a significant period of my life.  All That You Can’t Leave Behind came out around the time I started dating my wife.  How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb came out near the end of my last semester of school, as I was embarking on another exciting journey from college to the workforce.  No Line on the Horizon came out about a month after my daughter was born.  In many ways, U2 has produced the soundtrack of my life.

Leave a Reply

 
