Zoo Station

Just another WordPress.com weblog

More on No Line on the Horizon

Posted by Chance on March 17, 2009

I did an earlier post on U2’s album No Line on the Horizon after the first listen, and I wanted to post my impressions a couple weeks after buying the album.

The album on the whole is pretty good.  I don’t know where it ranks among U2 albums…I would say at best, probably fifth, which doesn’t sound great, but U2 has, I believe, 12 studio albums, and most of them are pretty good.

Some of the songs themselves would not stand out on their own, but they work being played together as an album.

A few of my favorite songs are “Magnificent” – an overtly spiritual praise song – “Moment of Surrender” – a soulful, slow paced song that would fit on the experimental Zooropa as well as this album, “Get on Your Boots” – I didn’t like it at first but it is growing on me, and “Breathe” – just an overall interesting song.

Many of the songs are overtly Christian, although the last song has a profanity and the first song has a line that is a bit suggestive.

This album may not have any songs that will be radio hits, but it is a worthy album of the U2 catalog.

Leave a Reply

 
